• Welcome to Milwaukee HDTV User Group.

News:

If your having any issues logging in, please email admin@milwaukeehdtv.org with your user name, and we'll get you fixed up!

Main Menu

TWC DVI vs. Reg HD Input

Started by Lebowski, Friday Jun 11, 2004, 06:26:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lebowski

Well I rcvd my $16 DVI cable a few days ago.  After a few days of observations, I've concluded that the picture is BETTER using the regular HD input on my set from the reg. HD out on TWC box.  I know Flanners and BB sell the $120 Monster DVIs...maybe I got what I paid for?

Ugh...now I'll have to get up and swap component cables when I want to watch a Prog. Scan DVD.  I don't want to spend $$$ on a rcvr at this point, and I don't quite understand the "switch" concept yet...

Again, I'm a beginner at this A/V stuff...but has anyone had a similar experience?  

It seems as if the shows I've watched in HD, i.e. CSI, Discovery HD Theater & NBA finals seem to have what I call 'boxy' shadows or outlines on background images (when using DVI)../Almost Atari-like.  Straight-up single color images or logos are fine, but there is a noticeable difference in 'moving images' when I use the reg. HD Input.

Weird, hey?  I thought DVI was supposed to be superior....

Comments?  Concerns?

summerfun

You have discovered what most of us already know. DVI is NOT better than component. No matter what the folks at the store say. They are trying to sell $120 cables. You are also correct in purchasing a $16 cable. It will be exactly the same as the $120 monster.

DVI was instituted by the film industry to add a level of copy protection to broadcast HD. It has absolutely nothing to do with PQ. Someday, DVI may be the only allowed input. It is good to have a TV that will accept DVI if that day comes.

You may be able to tweak your TV so that the DVI and the component look the same, saving you the hassle of switching back and forth as you mentioned.