News:

If your having any issues logging in, please email admin@milwaukeehdtv.org with your user name, and we'll get you fixed up!

Main Menu

OTA Signal Strength

Started by daheels, Sunday Oct 26, 2008, 01:53:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

daheels

I am having problem with OTA signal strength.  I have dish network for a service provider and use a chimney mounted antenna for OTA.  I have a channel master 4221 and a spartan 3 amplifier.  I have a VIP 612 receiver and a VIP 622 receiver.  The problem I am having is my signal strength jumping all over the place.  In the span of ten seconds my signal strength will jump from 95 to 81 to 65 to lost signal back to 95.  This happens with all the local channels.  The problem is worse on the 612 but also happens on the 622.  I live in Brookfield near the intersection of North and Springdale.  Any ideas/suggestions?  Thanks in advance.

Phil

troyriley

With it being so windy yesterday, did you check all of your connections and make sure everything is fastened down really well? Maybe the wind was blowing something around up there.

techboy

Trees....especially on wet and windy days.   It's not the signal strength, it's the multipath.  Best solution is to mount the antenna higher.  Amplifiers tend to intermodulate.   Try a non amplified splitter.
Retired Broadcast TV / Radio Engineer WTMJ. ( 35 Yrs )

daheels

I have the antenna mounted as high as I can and the problem has been happening for awhile now not just on windy days.  Would not using the amplifier possibly help?

Jimboy

1). Make sure the antenna is aimed properly. Bow ties facing the towers? The only reason I ask this is because I see so many antennas in this area aiming the wrong way based on their location. (unless you're trying to get other markets on purpose)