News:

If your having any issues logging in, please email admin@milwaukeehdtv.org with your user name, and we'll get you fixed up!

Main Menu

Ok, So what do I need to get started?

Started by 2thdoc01, Tuesday Jan 07, 2003, 03:56:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

2thdoc01

Hi All,

I am new to this hd stuff so bear with me!

I am having a non packer involved superbowl party (bastards!) and I have a sony hs-10 ordered.

I will be getting a Yamaha rvx-1300 receiver as my current receiver doesnt have component inputs.

What do I need as far as equipment and service for hd programs?

I intend to watch network broadcast hd material, some cable or sat, and dvd's.

I have dig TWC, but the pic quality seems to be worse than direct tv from what I hear.

I was thinking of getting OTA HD, direct tv, and a new dvd player.

What type of cabling do I need?

* I have 4 rg60 lines run with one for ota.

Thanks!

Kurt

Todd Wiedemann

Welcome, Kurt !

First, what type of TV do you have ? It'll help with what we can recommend.

2thdoc01

I have an LCD projector coming. It is a sony vlp-hs10.

I will project on a 92 inch 16:9 screen and a 100 inch 4:3

Thanks!

Kurt

Matt Heebner

Right now Flanners is offering the HD satellite installation for $500. I think its an excellent deal. You get the oval triple LNB dish installed (and you made their job easier by having 4 runs of RG-6 already done), and a Hughes E86 HD Directv/OTA set-top box. Grab a good antenna....plug it into the STB and scan for all the OTA digital channels.

You can't beat the price.
Or you could call Time Warner for their HD cable box. I believe that TWC is transmitting NBC, ABC, PBS in digital/HD. Maybe someone with better knowledge of the workings of TW can help you with cable.

Matt

2thdoc01

Thanks Matt,

I got all my Yamaha and Klipsch stuff there, along with my xantech repeaters.

So you think there deal is pretty good?

Can I buy the stuff myself anywhere and install it?

Kurt

Matt Heebner