News:

If your having any issues logging in, please email admin@milwaukeehdtv.org with your user name, and we'll get you fixed up!

Main Menu

DTVPal / TV-Guide / Panasonic DVR

Started by Buy_The_Tie, Sunday Nov 02, 2008, 07:49:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Buy_The_Tie

I have a Panasonic E-85 DVR, which I have been using for several years now to record SD Analog broadcasts.  It has a built-in TV Guide On-Screen (TVGOS), and I believe it gets its TVGOS data from our PBS station, Channel 10.  

With the upcoming transition to digital TV, I have purchased the Dish Network DTVPal converter box.  The DTVPal is a pretty slick little box.  It can be put in a mode whereby it "looks" like a Scientific Atlanta cable box.  That is to say, you go ahead and configure the DVR as if it is using a Scientific Atlanta cable box, and via an IR Blaster, the DVR can change channels on the DTVPal.

I have all of this magic working.  the DVR successfully controls the DTVPal, and I can record digital TV on my Analog DVR (SD Only though).

Here's the rub.  The DTVPal doesn't seem to want to pass the TVGOS data on to the DVR.  I believe (from reading other threads here) that the TVGOS data is now coming from CBS 58.1.  The manual for the DTVPal has you set your actual zip-code into the DTV Pal, and an el-fakeo zip code into your DVR.  I've tried to contact the folks over at the Dish Network, and they have been less than helpful.

Has anybody out there gotten the DTVPal to pass along TVGOS data to their analog TVGOS device?  There is a monster thread over in another forums, and I haven't found any success stories over there either.   (monster DTVPal thread)

If you have had a TVGOS success story using your DTVPal, I would really be interested to find out how you got it to work.