News:

If your having any issues logging in, please email admin@milwaukeehdtv.org with your user name, and we'll get you fixed up!

Main Menu

MythTV

Started by aaron, Wednesday Nov 08, 2006, 08:38:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aaron

Anyone else running MythTV? I've been using it as my primary PVR/HTPC for about two years now and I love it. My winter project is to upgrade to the latest version and add HDTV recording capabilities via the new HDHomeRun tuner. I'm crossing my fingers and hoping TWC does not encrypt all of the HD channels available on QAM.

Don't be afraid if you're not experienced with Linux, I had zero experience with it when I started, and I was able to get Myth up and running very easily using KnoppMyth, a specialized version intended to simplify the install process. If you choose the right hardware it's as simple as booting from the CD, answering a few questions, and you're ready to go. I've experimented a little bit with Windows MCE, and I definitely like Myth better. It's just a lot more flexible when it comes to configuration and customization, and there's a great community of coders always adding new features. The hardware requirements are also much lower; you can run MythTV just fine on an old P3 or Celeron machine (unless you want to playback HD, that takes a little more horsepower).