• Welcome to Milwaukee HDTV User Group.

News:

If your having any issues logging in, please email admin@milwaukeehdtv.org with your user name, and we'll get you fixed up!

Main Menu

Cutting the Cord

Started by krauts, Sunday Jan 01, 2012, 07:44:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

krauts

I was wondering if anyone here has gotten rid of their cable or satellite service. How have you managed if you have done so? Do you have Hulu Plus, Netflix, Roku, Google TV, etc?

Thanks.

trev57

We got rid of our cable for this past summer. It really wasn't too hard to keep up with everything. I have a Netflix subscription on my PS3, so that was one way. Plus you can keep up with most sports events on ESPN3/WatchESPN. And if you want to keep up with current seasons of shows, there are always live stream sites like justin.tv. One site I found is called sidereel.com. It sorts shows by episode, and from there it will search for direct links to each episode on select upload sites (i.e. Megaupload, videobb). Plus its free. Hope this helps. :)

PONIES

I went without cable for a while and it sucked. Unless you turn to piracy, since the legal streaming sites are not a suitable replacement. The picture quality of streaming is awful, and so are commercials and futzing about with proprietary Internet flash video players. No thank you.

Piracy is a mixed bag; the scene re-encodes everything to bitrate-starved 720p x264 files so it looks terrible. They don't come close to covering all the content that's on cable either.

You miss out on special events like Z100's Jingle Ball on FUSE or MTV's New Year's Eve and that sucks too.