• Welcome to Milwaukee HDTV User Group.

News:

If your having any issues logging in, please email admin@milwaukeehdtv.org with your user name, and we'll get you fixed up!

Main Menu

Quad Shield RG6

Started by StarvingForHDTV, Tuesday Jan 20, 2004, 11:00:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

StarvingForHDTV

I was referred to get Quad Shield RG6 cable on another thread here.  What kind of tool do I need to put on the connectors?  It looks pretty expensive to buy them with connectors on.  Plus I want custom lengths.  An exact link to the right tool would be helpful.  Preferably one you have used, and know it works good.  I'm a newbie with this.  Also I need to know what types of connectors I will need.  

I'm hooking one end up to antenna with one of those two pronged wire things on one end, and the coax male on the other.  The other side of that cable will go to the back of my OTA HD receiver.

The other cable will hook up to Time Warner just inside my house, and then run to the back of my cable modem.

I'm not sure if any of these devices are supposed to be using RG6 connectors.  I'm a newbie.

Any detailed instructions would be greatly appreciated :)

Starving

Greg Oman

The subject was interesting, so I looked for your referral, it was this post I think:  http://www.milwaukeehdtv.org/forums/showthread.php?s=&postid=14132#post14132

A few years ago I went through the same questions, before this board was up the Spot was helpful for this kind of stuff.  What I learned there was that the quad shield really is beneficial in high noise environments, not necessarily better in most cases (unless you occasionally fire up an arc welder or something).  I went with standard RG-6U.  Here's a page that shows one sample of the difference:

http://www.starkelectronic.com/jscoax.htm

What would be more important is to make sure that you've got an 18 guage inner conductor, that would be lower loss than a 20 or 22 guage inner.  Here's another helpful link: